Midnite Mixtape Massacre - Darrel Sutton & Dean Pratten - Trigger McPoopshute Print E-mail
Written by Darrel Sutton & Dean Pratten   
Sunday, 08 June 2014 03:20



Next weekend backdoor rock ‘n’ rollers Trigger McPoopshute play their most prestigious live shows yet, as they open for glunk rock uber lords The Chuck Norris Experiment on their first ever UK dates, the rather eloquently titled ‘Fuck Download’ tour.. What’s more, Chuck Ransom and his men will also be sharing a van with the four psychos from Abertillery Rock City. So we thought it only right to ask Darrel Sutton and Dean Pratten from Trigger to compile their very own C90 with which to entertain their touring partners. The result? One hell of a Midnite Mixtape Massacre.


Darrel Sutton - Vocals and bass


1.) ‘The Chase Is Better Than The Catch’ - Motorhead (from the album ‘Ace Of Spades’)


There is no rock music without Motorhead, full stop. Whatever I’ve been into musically over the years Motorhead has always been a constant. I could have picked any number of tracks but this has always been a song that I never listen to once; I usually hit repeat at least twice. If you don’t like it then you are a twat


2.) ‘Prince Of The Rodeo’ - Turbonegro (from the album ‘Apocalypse Dudes’)


Turbonegro are the perfect band for lifting the mood. A lot of people when hearing them for the first time always tend to say “Who the fuck’s this?” usually followed by “This is fucking excellent”. They don’t have their own navy for nothing and this song is their oiled-up arse-bothering best.


3.) ‘Set An Example’ - Spermbirds (from the album of the same name)


My introduction to Spermbirds was via Tankard’s cover version of 'Try Again'. A subsequent trip to the legendary Rockaway Records (now Kriminal Records) in Newport Market led to Simon and Beddis ensuring I left with the “Nothing Is Easy” album and I’ve loved the band ever since. “Set An Example” was their storming comeback a few years ago and the title is hardcore punk at its very, very best


4.) ‘Repeat To Fade’ - 3 Colours Red (from the album ‘The Union Of Souls’)


If you ever want to wake up fucking quick or have a song to scream your frustration to then ‘Repeat To Fade’ hits the spot for me every time. ‘Pure’ might have had the hits but ‘The Union Of Souls’ has songs that gnaw at you. Fuck knows how many guitar tracks are on this track because the sound is fucking huge. Another mass repeater.


trigger mixtape3


5.) ‘Tel Aviv’ - The Babysitters (from the self titled album)


If you’ve heard Trigger McPoopshute you know that serious lyrics aren’t top of the agenda and you’ve got to pay homage to the masters. I fucking loved Babysitters massively tongue-in-cheek glunk (long before it existed) and I will sing on a cover version of this one day, guaranteed.


6) ‘Bring it On Down’ - Oasis (from the album ‘Definitely Maybe’)


Before you mumble “cunt” under your breath, some music evokes memories of a time and place. Way before the advent of Trigger McPoopshute all the band members had known each other for years and many drunken antics pre-date the many that go on within the band. Three of the four members of the band miraculously evaded arrest during a week on the Norfolk Broads not long after Oasis came on the scene. ‘Bring It On Down’ was playing at full volume from our boat as we moored in a sleepy village with one of said members led bollock naked on the boat’s deck covered in the leftovers of the previous night’s Chinese meal. Tidy


7.) ‘Cloud 9’ - China Drum (from the album ‘Goosefair’)


The elusive common choice of song…………. “I think you’re fucking crazy, just staring into space”. The number of times over the years Dean and myself have drunkenly shouted that line at each other has got to be a fucking lot. Great band, three great albums. Hard to pick just one but that line seals it.


trigger mixtape


Dean Pratten - Guitar


8.) ‘Sweet N Sour’ - Jon Spencer Blues Explosion (from the album ‘Plastic Fang’)


Opening song of the album, and it's rock 'n' fuckin 'roll...


9.) ‘Disco Man’ - The Damned (from the ‘Friday 13th’ EP)


Loved this the very first time I heard it, and it’s still one of my favourite Damned songs


10.) ‘Heart Attack America’ - The Bronx (from the band’s self titled debut album)


Again the opening track, and one that grabs you by the neck and smashes your face against the wall.


11.) ‘Ramblin’ Rose’ - MC5 (from the album ‘Kick Out The Jams)


Simply a brilliant, chaotic noise...


trigger mixtape2


12.) ‘Alison’ - Elvis Costello (from the album ‘My Aim Is True’)


And by direct contrast, here’s a beautiful song.


13.) ‘Hypo Full Of Love (The 12 Step Plan)’ - Alabama 3 (from the album ‘Exile on Coldharbour Lane’)


"Sweet, pretty, mother fuckin, country acid house music." ‘nuff said!


Those all-important ‘Fuck Download’ tour dates once again are as follows.


June 13th, 2014 - The Pipeline, London - Chuck Norris Experiment w/The Hip Priests + Trigger McPoopshute + Role Models http://www.wegottickets.com/event/271446


June 14th, 2014 - The Chameleon, Nottingham - Chuck Norris Experiment w/The Hip Priests + Deadcuts + Trigger McPoopshute http://www.wegottickets.com/event/272025


CNE tour poster