THE DEAD LAY WAITING to release 'Ascent Of The Murder' EP in May Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 February 2013 19:43



The Dead Lay Waiting are set to release new EP, 'Ascent Of The Murder', on May 13th 2013.


The release is the band’s first musical offering since their split with the now defunct Rising Records, and although the past year with the label left them in something of a stagnant position, the band are excited to be back and doing things independently in 2013. "With a renewed hunger, we’re determined to make up for lost time," says singer Luke Lucas. "Already in a short period we’ve achieved so much on our own, and we have so much more planned for the coming months, including new music, videos, exciting surprises, tours, tours and more tours. In short, TDLW are far from dead."


For the uninitiated, The Dead Lay Waiting are a British metal band hailing from Swindon, Wiltshire. The group consists of Luke Lucas (vocals), Ben Connett (lead guitar), Steve Franklin (rhythm guitar), Sam Sara (bass guitar) and Tom Shrimpton (drums). After releasing their debut album, 'We Rise', in 2009 the band worked hard to build their profile, securing numerous key festival appearances and live dates across Europe and eventually earning nominations for Best British Newcomer at the Kerrang! Awards and Best Underground Band at the Metal Hammer Golden Gods in 2011.


Since their last release in 2011 the band’s sound has come a long way,  they still deliver the same intensity that first got them noticed but this aggression is now married with a more melodic focus, creating an ultimately more honed and cohesive sound that finally captures the intensity of their live shows on record. Ascent Of The Murder will set the tone for the future of the band and its release will see TDLW deservedly step back into the main arena and firmly re-establish themselves at the forefront of the UK metal scene.


As well as the new EP, The Dead Lay Waiting have recently released their own Comic Book, ‘Chapter One - the Girl’, which was launched at the Telford Comic Con earlier this month. The comic book and EP will be available as a limited edition package on a unique Syringe-style USB stick. The USB package will also include material from their ‘Almost Heaven’ album, behind the scenes footage from the recent ‘The Killing Is Dead’ tour and their new music video to EP track Blind Preacher.


'Ascent of The Murder' will be available digitally, and as a limited edition USB package, from May 13th 2013, this is preceded by the release of their new single ‘Roses Are Grey’ on April 22nd 2013.




Twitter: @tdlw