MAD SEASON album to be reissued as deluxe edition Print E-mail
Thursday, 10 January 2013 10:43

madseasonaboveThe 1995 album, 'Above', from MAD SEASON is set for a Deluxe Edition reissue in April.


Mad Season was a supergroup of sorts featuring Alice In Chains frontman Layne Staley, Pearl Jam's Mike McCready, bassist John Baker Saunders of The Walkabouts, and drummer/percussionist Barrett Martin of the Screaming Trees. 'Above' was the only album released by the band.


The Deluxe Edition of 'Above' will be released on April 2nd, and will feature a host of previously unreleased material.


The three-disc set includes the original album along with previously unreleased tracks from Mad Season's unfinished second album with new lyrics and vocals from Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees). Lanegan had previously provided guest vocals and some lyrics on 'Above'. Last year McCready, Martin and Brett Eliason, the producer of 'Above', got together and revisited material from the second album’s sessions. Mark Lanegan wrote lyrics and sang three of those songs, including one co-written by Peter Buck (R.E.M.)


The second CD is audio from the band's final show. The third disc is a DVD of the 'Live at the Moore' show along with another previously unreleased Seattle show and other bonus footage.


In addition to the digital and physical releases, an expanded two album vinyl edition will be released on Record Store Day, April 20th.


After its release in 1995, 'Above' went gold (shipping 500,000 copies). Work was started on a follow-up, with McCready, Saunders and Martin recording the basic tracks for 15 new songs. Due to health issues, Staley wasn't able to make the recording sessions and the album was eventually shelved as band members moved on to other projects. Saunders died in 1999, and Staley passed away in 2002.


'Above' Deluxe Edition tracklisting:


‘Wake Up’
‘X-Ray Mind’
‘River of Deceit’
‘I’m Above’
‘Artificial Red’
‘Lifeless Dead’
‘I Don’t Know Anything’
‘Long Gone Day’
‘November Hotel’
‘All Alone’
‘Interlude’ (previously unreleased)
‘Locomotive’ (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
‘Black Book Of Fear’ (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
‘Slip Away’ (lyrics/vocals by Mark Lanegan)
‘I Don’t Wanna Be A Soldier’ (remix)


CD 2 – ‘Live at The Moore’
Previously unreleased full audio set of ‘Live at The Moore’ performance from Seattle, April 29, 1995.


DVD – ‘Live at The Moore’ + Bonus Footage