AMERICAN WEREWOLF ACADEMY to release 'Out Of Place All The Time' in December Print E-mail
Wednesday, 16 October 2013 14:27



Following 2010’s well-received 'Everything Is Alright So Far', comes this follow up album from rock trio AMERICAN WEREWOLF ACADEMY, entitled 'Out Of Place All The Time'. Featuring eleven all new tracks, 100% analogue tape recorded, mixed and mastered -  an altogether slicker, tighter, more mature, straighter (but still immensely fun) sort of rock beast.
Recorded in analogue over the course of a year at the band's usual haunt, The Echo Lab in Denton with Matthew Barnhart (SuperChunk, Bob Mould, Shearwater, David Bazan) at the helm. Four of the songs were recorded with producer, John Dufilho at Valve Studios in Dallas.
Sonically it is much different to their album, 'Triceratops' (2008) which was recorded on an old 8-track reel-to-reel from the 1970s. Like a child consciously deciding childhood is over, AWA have put their toys in a box and shelved the quirkier-themed songs. AWA have made their leap from good-time party band to something just as catchy, but with deeper reaching tendrils touching on these universal themes of human emotion.
American Werewolf Academy’s influences range from 60s bubblegum to 70s power pop and all out rock. Favourite bands of AWA include Roky Erickson, The Who, The Kinks, Cheap Trick, The New Pornographers, and R.E.M. Comprising of Aaron Thedford on guitar, Jake Barnhart on bass (both previously of Robot Monster Weekend), and Tony Harper (also of Slobberbone) on drums. This trio hail from Dallas, Texas, and release unique and fun, high energy rock ‘n’ roll.


'Out Of Place All The Time' will be released 9th December on Damnably (Shonen Knife, Bitch Magnet, Chris Brokaw, Wussy, Geoff Farina etc).


Listen to the track 'Freebeard' below: