Gig Reviews
Gogol Bordello – Manchester, Academy – 12 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by DJ Astrocreep   
Thursday, 04 January 2018 04:40

Gogol Bordello tour posterEven a virtual nonstop gigging machine such as our resident frequent traveller needs a break now and again – and, so it was that, two weeks before Chrimbo, the big man found himself heading down the M62 for the last time last year to join in the party being thrown down Manchester way by those members of gypsy punk’s lunatic fringe known as Gogol Bordello.  Click the link to get in on all the frontline party cannon action:

Read more...
 
Fields Of The Nephilim – London, Kentish Town Forum – 22 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Jim Rowland   
Tuesday, 02 January 2018 12:45

Fields Of The Nephilim posterThe stars may not have been quite aligned for goth legends Fields Of The Nephilim’s ‘Saturnalia’ winter solstice celebration this year - due to ‘unforeseen circumstances’ the show had to be moved back one day – but that did not dampen the spirits of the Nephilim faithful one bit, and they were out in force at Kentish Town’s Forum for the band’s only UK show of this year. Among them, was our very own man in flour-covered black, Jim Rowland:

Read more...
 
Five Finger Death Punch – Glasgow, SSE Hydro – 18 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Hannah Reid   
Friday, 29 December 2017 04:00

Five Finger Death Punch GlasgowWith a paltry two new songs tacked on to a recent “best of…” retrospective, you might just think that FFDP have been treading water of late… but, that didn’t stop them returning to the Über Kingdom of Rock ‘n’ Roll earlier this month for a handful of arena shows. We sent our very own ketamine queen, the panda named Hannah along to record the action on the Glasgow leg:

Read more...
 
The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus – Glasgow, G2 – 14 December 17 Print E-mail
Written by Hannah Reid   
Thursday, 28 December 2017 04:20

The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus GlasgowWhen TRJA pulled into Glasgow as part of a run of dates to mark the tenth anniversary of their album ‘Don’t You Fake It’, with the promise of playing same in its entirety, our very own ketamine queen, the panda known as Hannah was the first in the queue to volunteer to brave the pit and record the occasion in both words and pictures, and you can enjoy the result on the other side of this link:

Read more...
 
HIM – Nottingham, Rock City – 15 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Rich Hobson and Allan Maxwell   
Wednesday, 27 December 2017 04:40

HIM GlasgowAfter more than a quarter of a century at the forefront of the goth movement that he virtually helped to redefine, His Infernal Majesty Ville Vallo recently decided to hang up his beanie hat and retire his iconic ‘Heartagram’ – but, not before one last tour to bid farewell to the Über Kingdom of Rock ‘n’ Roll. We sent Allan Maxwell to record the Glasgow gig in glorious technicolour, and while Rich H was tasked with telling us what happened when the HIM hit machine rolled into Nottingham:

Read more...
 
Jaya The Cat – London, Underworld – 5 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Rich Hobson   
Wednesday, 27 December 2017 04:00

Jaya The Cat CamdenIt might have been a five year wait for a new record by Jaya The Cat, but as far as live shows go they never actually went away. A mainstay of the summer festival circuit (popping up variously at Rebellion and Boomtown over the years) and winter tour circuit, it just wouldn’t feel like a proper Christmas without a trip to see the outfit that Rich H describes as “the Cava of punk-reggae bands”. Find out why on the other side of the link:

Read more...
 
Royal Thunder – Birmingham, Mama Roux’s - 27 November 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Rich Hobson   
Friday, 22 December 2017 04:40

Royal Thunder BirminghamIt may be the season of good will to all men, but at URHQ we’re celebrating the darker side, especially of the rock and metal spectrum… and what better way than to look back at a triple-threat bill of doom-infused occult-ish acts - playing in the birthplace of metal no less?  Who did we assign to walk on the dark side of the road?  Why, Rich H ov course! You can find out how he got on by clicking the link with the simple enchanting instruction:

Read more...
 
The Wildhearts – York, The Fulford Arms – 11 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Ben Hughes and Neil Vary   
Thursday, 21 December 2017 04:40

Ginger Wildheart YorkThe average hardcore Wildhearts fan has seen the band play live a bazillion times and they have seen Ginger perform acoustic gigs at least a handful of times I reckon. But how many have seen Ginger and CJ touring together, playing a set of Wildhearts songs each night? I’ll tell you how many... nada, nil,zilch... no one, as they have never bloody done it before! At least, not until earlier this month, and our resident wildheart himself found himself drooling at the prospect:

Read more...
 
While She Sleeps – Sheffield, O2 Academy - 8 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Geno D and Claire Simmons   
Wednesday, 20 December 2017 04:40

While She Sleeps SheffieldHomecoming shows are always special, and so it proved for Steel City bruisers While She Sleeps when kicked off their latest run of dates in support of their ‘You Are We’ magnum opus within stage diving distance of their front rooms… We sent Geno D and Claire S along to observe things from the safe distance of the balcony as the moshpit action got into full fury:

Read more...
 
Frank Carter And The Rattlesnakes – Glasgow, 02 ABC - 5 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Allan Maxwell   
Tuesday, 19 December 2017 04:20

Frank Carter GlasgowIt takes a lot to keep a good artist down – but, even though a bout of tonsillitis forced Frank Carter to reschedule the Irish leg of his last round of touring, he was soon fighting fit and back in the pit again, as our man Allan M found out when he brought his Rattlesnakes north of the border to Glasgie town:

Read more...
 
Acid Reign – Manchester, Rebellion – 8 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by DJ Astrocreep   
Monday, 18 December 2017 04:20

Acid Reign Rebellion posterContinuing to notch up the road miles, and the gig count, our resident DJ recently took himself on another trip down the M62 to the heart of Manchester to catch up with metal’s own lunatic fringe, H, and his Acid Reign crue, ably backed by two of the country’s finest thrash bands. Click the link to find out what sort of madness went down – well, one our man got over his initial confusion over who exactly was on the bill and what time the doors opened:

Read more...
 
Idlewild – Glasgow, O2 ABC - 19 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Elizabeth and Allan Maxwell   
Friday, 29 December 2017 04:40

Idlewild GlasgowScottish alt-rockers Idlewild recently marked the 15th anniversary of 'The Remote Part' with two sold-out back-to-back shows at Glasgow’s O2 ABC. We sent our brother and sister team of Lizzi and Allan Maxwell along to record this historic occasion, in both words and pictures, for both posterity and your reading pleasure, which you can enjoy in the other side of this link:

Read more...
 
Santa Cruz – Glasgow, Cathouse – 10 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Hannah Reid   
Thursday, 28 December 2017 04:40

Santa Cruz GlasgowFinnish glunksters Santa Cruz recently returned to the Über Kingdom of Rock ‘n’f’n’ Roll for a series of dates in support of their third album. We sent our very own ketamine queen, the panda named Hannah, along to Glasgow’s notorious Cathouse venue to find out if it would be a case of bad blood on the dancefloor or another dose of hairspray-infused heaven:

Read more...
 
Adam Ant – Camden, Roundhouse - 21 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Martin Haslam   
Thursday, 28 December 2017 04:00

Adam Ant Squared OffAfter last year’s final performance of ‘Kings Of The Wild Frontier’ at the very same venue, returning to the Roundhouse for the last night of the ‘Anthems’ tour was a no brainer for Martin Haslam. Performing ‘A’ sides and ‘B’ sides, with a gig-honed band, could this be or man’s ‘Gig Of The Year’?  Click the link to find out:

Read more...
 
Jimmy Barnes – Belfast, Limelight 1 – 19 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Mark Ashby and The Dark Queen   
Wednesday, 27 December 2017 04:20

Jimmy Barnes BelfastIt really was meant to be, wasn’t it? There Monk was, blithely editing a review of a charity fundraiser bash by Jimmy Barnes and a few chums back at the beginning of the summer, when an email popped into his inbox proclaiming that the man himself was due to make a long overdue visit to our little corner of the rock ‘n’ roll Überverse… And so it was, almost six months to the day later, he and DQ found themselves paying their last visit of the year to a venue which is literally just a few minutes’ dander from the front door of URHQ:

Read more...
 
The Answer – Ahoghill, Diamond Rock Club – 16 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Mark Ashby and The Dark Queen   
Saturday, 23 December 2017 04:20

The Answer AhoghillIt was always going to be a special night.  It always is when The Answer play the best li’l rock club on the island of Ireland. And even more so when it’s their traditional Christmas party. However, tonight was going to be even more special, as – unbeknownst to many present – it was to be the band’s last gig for quite some time as the lads prepare to spend the foreseeable future concentrating on various side projects… but, that’s a story for another day… for now, click the link to join in this particular rock ‘n’ roll party:

Read more...
 
Fish – Manchester, O2 Ritz – 9 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by DJ Astrocreep   
Friday, 22 December 2017 04:20

Fish tour headerHaving recently popped his Marillion cherry, it seemed only fitting for our resident DJ to do the same with the band’s former frontman, Fish, when he also came visiting Manchester. So, we despatched the big man back down the M62 to use up more of his frequent traveller miles and do just and see if the lanky Scot was ‘Clutching At Straws’ or still delivering feasts of aural consequences:

Read more...
 
Silverstein – Glasgow, G2 - 12 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Elizabeth and Allan Maxwell   
Thursday, 21 December 2017 04:20

Silverstein GlasgowWhen a band has been around for 17 years, and have played thousands of shows they have got to find a way of keeping those shows relevant and fun. Not only for the fans but for themselves also. This is the task with which Silverstein found themselves confronted – and the big question is: did they succeed? We sent the brother and sister team of Allan and Elizabeth Maxwell along to the Glasgow leg of the tour to find out:

Read more...
 
SikTh – Belfast, Empire Music Hall – 13 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Mark Ashby and The Dark Queen   
Wednesday, 20 December 2017 04:20

SikTh BelfastHaving spent almost nine years in the musical wilderness, progressive metal innovators SikTh exploded back into action earlier this year, first with a tour supporting Trivium, which by all accounts re-ignited fans’ belief in their ability to deliver incendiary live shows, and the subsequent release of a new album, which they round year off supporting with a short run of dates. We sent Monk and DQ along to the penultimate show, in the unlikely surroundings of a converted church:

Read more...
 
Creeper – Glasgow, O2 ABC - 3 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by Hannah Reid   
Monday, 18 December 2017 04:40

Creeper GlasgowUndoubtedly one of the hottest up-and-coming young bands of 2017, Creeper returned to the highways and bye-ways of the Über Kingdom of Rock ‘n’ Roll, bringing along with them some weird and wonderful characters to make up their very own ‘Theatre Of Fear’. We sent our very own ketamine queen, the panda by the name of Hannah, to check out what down on the opening night:

Read more...
 
HRH NWOBHM II: The Xmas Rocka – Sheffield, O2 Academy – 3 December 2017 Print E-mail
Written by DJ Astrocreep   
Saturday, 16 December 2017 04:40

HRH NWOBHM SigilWith one day of retrospective metal action under his bullet belt, our resident DJ once more ventured into the heart of Steel City for a second dose of old-school riffin’ and rawkin’ in the company of some genuine legends of the genre. Click the link for his in-depth frontline report:

Read more...
 
«StartPrevNextEnd»

Page 2 of 51