August CD
Panic Cell - 'Fire It Up' (Undergroove) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Ian Bell   
Tuesday, 03 August 2010 06:00
Panci_Cell_Fire_thmbAlbum number three for British metallers Panic Cell and Ian Bell is name-dropping influences such as Disturbed, Five Finger Death Punch, Black Label Society and Testament when describing 'Fire It Up'. Whether this is the album to finally make Panic Cell mega stars we'll leave that up to you guys.
Read more...
 
Bonded By Blood - 'Exiled To Earth' (Earache) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by David Whistance   
Monday, 02 August 2010 05:00
Bonded_By_Blood_thmbTaking their name from a seminal thrash album from the eighties, California's Bonded By Blood aren't exactly afraid to admit their influences. But with a superb debut album already under their young belts can 'Exiled To Earth' live up to their early promise. David Whistance finds out.
Read more...
 
Nonpoint - 'Miracle' (Powerage Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Nev Brooks   
Sunday, 01 August 2010 05:30

nonpointhumbAfter missing them at Download for the sake of denim 'n' leather, Nev Brooks checks out the eighth album from Nonpoint to see what he missed. Is opening your album with a Pantera song really the best way to go?

Read more...
 
The Used - 'Artwork' (Warner Bros) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gaz E   
Sunday, 30 August 2009 22:55

1usedthumbI have to be honest here - The Used were a band that caused only a minor blip on my musical radar screen. They were, generally, promoted as being a band that people of my age would not understand or appreciate...... 

Read more...
 
FELL ON BLACK DAYS – ‘Bring Out Your Dead’ (Self Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gaz E   
Friday, 21 August 2009 15:37
Fell_on_black_days_tmbBe warned – read no further if you are weak of heart. Spawned from the debris of a former industrial wasteland, Fell On Black Days are a bruising, battle scarred behemoth ready to crush skulls, cities and doubters.
Read more...
 
Michael Schenker Group – Walk The Stage Official Bootleg Box Set (Chrysalis) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Johnny H   
Wednesday, 19 August 2009 18:04

thumb_MSG_wtsHaving been a long time fan of Michael Schenker (with UFO and mostly everything else he’s ever touched), this box set initially struck me as being a bit of an oddly timed...

Read more...
 
THE BLACK MOLLYS – ‘One Man’s Treasure Is Another Man’s Trash’ (Trashpit Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gaz E   
Wednesday, 19 August 2009 17:50
thumb_blackmollys_albumIt’s 1999 and the massive success of ‘A Place In The Sun’ by Lit has opened the floodgates for the so-called Nu-Breed Of Power Pop to pick the bones of the back catalogues of Cheap Trick and Elvis Costello.
Read more...
 
Hellscrack - 'Rusted' (Self Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Darrel Sutton   
Wednesday, 05 August 2009 11:47

hellscrack_coverI feel I’m not doing justice to Hellscrack with this review, but the problem with them is that they are so good live

Read more...
 
Reaching Hand – 'Threshold' (Chorus Of One) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Darrel Sutton   
Wednesday, 05 August 2009 11:29
reachinghandthresholdapproved_smallI like this, a lot. Five songs, in not very many minutes, of female fronted Portuguese hardcore. I really love female vocals to hardcore and vocalist Sofia really does belt out the songs on this EP.
Read more...
 
The Barbarellatones – ‘Not Dog…Snow-Lion!’ (Barbarellatones Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gaz E   
Wednesday, 05 August 2009 11:12

barbarellatones_cover A new Barbarellatones record is like a surprise visit from an old friend. Review of the latest album from prolific Barbarellatones frontman Robbie Quine.

Read more...
 
Darker My Love - 'Alive As You Are' (Dangerbird Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Nev Brooks   
Monday, 02 August 2010 05:00

darkerthumbWith a band name taken from a song by the legendary TSOL, Darker My Love have persuaded Nev Brooks to dig his lava lamp out and drift away with their new album 'Alive As You Are'.......

Read more...
 
Negura Bunget - 'Virstele Pamintului' (Code 666) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by David Whistance   
Sunday, 01 August 2010 05:00
Virstele_thmbNegura Bunget are a highly regarded black metal band from Transylvania whose albums are sung in their mother tongue. So who better than Welsh metal maniac David Whistance to translate the epic soundscapes of their new album 'Virstele Pamintului'?
Read more...
 
Candy Now! – Self Titled (BEZF – MVD Audio) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Johnny H   
Friday, 21 August 2009 16:19

candy_now_tmbapproved_smallWhen Blag Dahlia the legendary frontman of the world’s scariest band, The Dwarves does a solo album, you know he’s not going to be doing something musically straightforward.  And this Candy Now! debut album most certainly isn’t straightforward in any shape or form.

Read more...
 
Jarle Bernhoft – 'Ceramik City Chronicles' (Mercury Norway) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Johnny H   
Wednesday, 19 August 2009 18:09

jarle_bernhoft_tmbapproved_smallWay back in November 1989 I had just started a Christmas job with the then high street music retailer Our Price. Up until that time if you’d asked me to name a soulful singer I’d probably have replied with either Don Dokken, or Tony Harnell.  I know, I was still quite young, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking with it.

Read more...
 
LIFER – ‘Long Time Dead’ (Self Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gaz E   
Wednesday, 19 August 2009 17:56
lifer_LTD_tmbLiving in a ghost town, all hope decaying in the acid Thatcher reign, shaped unfit lives and minds. Teenage rock fans barely alive in those fractured times two decades ago had two choices
Read more...
 
400 COLPI - 'Homo Homini Lupus' (Chorus of One) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Darrel Sutton   
Wednesday, 05 August 2009 11:53
400colpiCoverGot to admit I was more than a little sceptical when the Hoss sent me this for review.  You see this lot are an Italian Hardcore outfit
Read more...
 
Off With Their Heads - 'From The Bottom' (No Idea Records) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Darrel Sutton   
Wednesday, 05 August 2009 11:39

offwiththeirheads_coverBeing the lazy shit that I am, I’ve had this for a while and only now shifted my arse to review it. Anyway what it does mean is I’ve had time to grow to love this...

Read more...
 
Scutty Neighbours – ‘DE45’ (Self Released) Print E-mail
CD Reviews
Written by Gaz E   
Wednesday, 05 August 2009 11:24
scutty_coverapproved_smallMy illicit affair with Scutty Neighbours began in February 2008 when their ‘Noise Police’ CD fell into my yellow and black striped inbox like a lump of ice dumped from an airplane toilet.
Read more...
 
«StartPrevNextEnd»

Page 27 of 27